Gwent: The Witcher Card Game Beta Review

Today i received an email saying that i could finally enter the Gwent beta and I’m not going to lie, I was very very excited. I am a huge fan of the Witcher franchise and a even bigger fan of the the mini game Gwent, which was added to The Witcher 3:Wild Hunt. I own the actual cards as well, after I got the special editions of the DLCs, Heart of stone and Blood and Wine (was voted the RPG of the year),  CD Projekt Red announced early this year that they were making a actual Gwent game and now I am lucky enough to get a spot in the closed Beta.

So like every game these days the game has micro transactions in them. Probably the first thing I encountered was these card kegs i could buy from like £4. So that wasn’t a good start really, but i got a few free ones with the game so it wasn’t a problem. You can buy them with things you get when you win, so it’s not all real money.

After playing Gwent in the Witcher 3, this new version is quite difficult to understand, but the new tutorial was clear and easy to understand. The game has changed a lot, I’m not too sure for the better, but there is definitely more strategy to this version, so from a game play perspective it probably has for the best.

The factions have not changed, but the card’s abilities have and new cards have been added. There are also more ways of sabotaging cards.

Gwent Sce.png
This is screenshot of me playing a random person ( I won in the end) 

 

 

Leave a Reply

