Attempting To Create Normal Maps At Home

So at home I was determined to create my own Normal map for my texture.

A normal map is a UV texture used almost fave a higher resolution image onto a lower resolution image. They really affect the look of a texture.

I went out and took a few photographs of brick walls. I decided to use this one.IMG_1413.JPG

Texture Test 1 3.png
I went into photo shop and selected the filer tool, which allowed me to create my Normal Map.
Texture Test 1 1.png
I then created a new material in Unreal Engine and generated this brick texture.
Leave a Reply

